For the Love…


Locks of love, that is. Or in my friends case, Pantene Beautiful Lengths

For those of you who don’t know, or haven’t picked up yet; my mom passed away from cancer in 1996. If it wasn’t for the fact that I had been bleaching my hair since high school, I might have considered taking my braided waist-length hair – that I’d had since I was a small child (see below) and cut off at the neck in 2003 – to donate to Locks of Love. As I learned today, there are many rules!

Photo taken around 1987

Photo taken around 1987

At 11am, I joined a good friend Christina (below) for a monumental moment of cutting a solid 10 inches from her head to donate to the Pantene Beautiful Lengths. Not only must your hair be free of dye, you must have grown at least 8-10 inches. Christina had far more than that to give; plus she has hair so beautiful, it is one of her defining physical features. If you want to know more, you are going to have to check out her blog Too Pretty For This to learn the details, but getting to be with her as she sacrificed part of her identity for the joy of someone else got me thinking…

Photo+on+2009-09-30+at+15.11+#3

How often do we step outside ourselves and consider what might make someone else happy?

2 thoughts on “For the Love…

Leave a Reply

