Snowflex Snowboarding


I love subway’s veggie flatbread.  I think I could eat one every day.  I think I nearly DO eat one everyday.  It is definitely what I had for dinner tonight, and let me tell you, I was famished!!  Marty and I had just got done an hour of snowboarding at Liberty’s Snowflex mountain.

What is “Snowflex” you ask?  If you’ve never heard of it, last spring that would have made two of us…

This past July, Liberty put a year-round ski resort in place of the hiking trails I used to work off my Freshmen 15 back in good ‘ol college.  Up until today, I had only been anywhere near it for a film shoot last fall and to take pictures for Liberty Alumni with Marty.  Today that all changed.

It was a brisk 35 degrees here in Lynchburg, and Marty was a solid 15 minutes late meeting me at the campus Barnes and Noble to get our daily coffee.  Today we were going to brave the mountain.

(I think we could be poster children for this place!!)

Marty claims he’s skied before, I have water-skied, wake boarded and downhill skied; but it’s probably been about 10 years since I tried snowboarding and the minute we suited up and “hopped” out to the hill I remembered why…you spend SO MUCH TIME ON YOUR ARSE!!!!

I haven’t laughed so hard since…yesterday when I hung out with Marty lol!  We had a blast!  There is a serious amount of resilience involved with learning this sport though; after the first run, Marty was ready to toss in the towel.  Getting past the bottom-dragging, and over the fear of barreling down the hill, this sport is SO MUCH FUN! (Check tumblr tomorrow for video footage of Marty and I trying to go down the bunny hill!! Lol).

You know, for all the people who say there is nothing to do in Lynchburg, I have been racking up the random activities on a daily basis since the New Year! :p  So far I’ve gone shooting, rollerskating, hiking and snowboarding; what do you suggest I do tomorrow?? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Snowflex Snowboarding

  1. Come to Cattle Annie’s and sing Karaoke. They have the best DJ in town! Just so you know, I’m waaayyyy excited about listening to you and Alma jam on Sunday!!!

    • Jody!!! 🙂

      I need to come…I need to get a song together though; the real reason I haven’t gone yet is because there isn’t anything I’m confident enough to pull off at karaoke yet! Lol!!! I’m stoked about Sunday too!! I can’t wait, I go to church just down the road from your place! Tell Alma I will come to karaoke as soon as I learn a song, PROMISE!

Leave a Reply

