One Day at a Time…


It’s been forty-eight hours…plus some….and still counting.

Luckily, we have a new gym here at the apartment complex; so I spend about an hour there each day.  Today, after the gym, I borrowed a shovel from the neighbor and decided I’d keep my gym bag in the truck until I was done digging my car out of the snow for the fourth time.  I unlocked the trunk, threw my bag in, and as I was slamming it shut the thought raced through my mind, ‘your keys are in the gym bag.’  I quickly pat my hands around my coat pockets; my pant pockets; then I frantically pulled on the trunk handle, “Noooooo!!!”

I was left standing in the parking lot with just a shovel and my encased vehicle; no keys to my apartment, no keys to my car, no keys to the gym, nothing.

I don’t know what happens to you when crisis hits, but I immediate move into resolution mode.  How can I fix this??

Long story short, due to the snow, the apartment maintenence guys were around shoveling on hour 32 of overtime.  They got the skeleton key from the rental office; I got in my apartment and called AAA; and within about 30 minutes I had my keys back in my hands.

Yes. My hair is blond.

I would rather blame it on the severe case of cabin fever I’m suffering from; unable to drive anywhere.  I even fell on my way to the gym today, because I stepped on black ice and my feet came flying up from underneath me.  I quickly glanced around to see if anyone had witnessed my crash; but everyone was still holed up in their apartments at 8:30am this morning.

The plan is to get into my car tomorrow and venture onto the “city” streets; but until then, I’m just taking it one day at a time…how was your weekend??  Anyone else out there been house-bound and loosing it?? :p

2 thoughts on “One Day at a Time…

  1. Doesn’t sound like a blonde moment to me but kudos to you for not thinking, “keys locked in car, shovel in my hand, break window.” This is what I prob would have done in my “can’t handle mini crisis” mode. So way to be thinking clearly, and for the laugh!

    • Lol…thanks for letting me off the hook; but seriously, cars locked into trunk in the midst of the worst snow storm and now way back into my apartment…my family would call that “blond” 😉
      Hope you’re enjoying warmer weather!! lol

Leave a Reply

