These Hopeful Machines


Six thousand, one hundred and seventy eight.

That is the number of stutter-edits in BT’s new album that released today.

If you don’t know what a “stutter-edit” is, that’s okay; all you need to know is that this new album synthesizes BT’s ability to lovingly lock synths, six-strings, vocals, space, production advances and master it with pure emotion.

It hasn’t left my iPhone or iMac today; I have been playing it non-stop.  I knew that would be the case when I caught a six minute clip of Every Other Way on BT’s tumblr site last fall.  I think I fell asleep listening to it for three weeks straight.

BT isn’t just another pretty face; he is a compositional genius, who has morphed his affinity for melodic mathematics into something that turns listening to music into an interactive experience.

I am on a long list of people who have met the master-mind “once at a ____” (Fill in the blank); but he is on the list of people I would love to spend a day with watching him do what he does.

Yet, the reality is, I will likely never get that chance to experience that; but a superior second is THM.  I can experience that over and over…

If you are looking for new music, download it from itunes or order it from Amazon ahora!!! Your ears will thank you…I promise.

One thought on “These Hopeful Machines

Leave a Reply

