Community


Five years.  The time I’ve resided in this apartment complex.

One.  The number of people I’ve gotten to know in those five years.

Three.  The number that has repeated itself thematically in my life over the past few days.

Three is the number of times the BT show has been canceled at Ibiza due to snow. (I’m starting to think I won’t get to see him at all…)

Three is the number of snow storms Virgina has sustained this winter.

Three is the number of neighbors I have met since last weekends blizzard.

There is something blissful about being trapped in this little village I live in.  Buildings upon buildings of individuals who lead individual independent lives; spending more time complaining about the lack of parking or the loud neighbor than getting to know the names of the people they have passed on a daily basis for months on end.

And then it snowed.

I saw strangers helping other strangers push a car out from its captivity.  A group of individuals met at the complex’s gym to watch tv and hang out.  A number of guys from the complex spent the afternoon playing football in the snow.

Life is standing still.  We have time to help our maintenance guys shovel walkways; to stop and admire the brilliance of the debilitating snow.  To see how beautiful and peaceful the world is when it is under a shimmering blanket of white.

When’s the last time it slowed down for you?

3 thoughts on “Community

  1. Pingback: Mom Luck | The Beautiful Side of Snow

  2. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    find this matter to be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to
    get the hang of it!

  3. I’ve been surfing on-line more than 3 hours today, yet I never discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and
    bloggers made just right content as you did, the web
    will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

