20/20


A year ago today I was legally blind.

If you are fortunate enough to have good vision, this picture will give you a good idea what my world was like for as long as I can remember:

If there was ever another terrorist attack and I lost my contacts/glasses; that would be it for me.  I wouldn’t be able to tell friend from foe, let alone what I was looking at in any given moment. (I really do think in these crazy extremes :p)

After two years of “lasik eligibility,” I finally signed up last January and spent the entire month of February in a physical state I avoided my entire life: four-eyes. The phrase that was ascribed to me throughout high school was, “cool by day, nerd by night.”  My teens were not some of my prettier years, or prettier memories.  So I purchased a pair of frames that “fit” my face to endure my 30-day psychological pain.

The morning of my surgery, Lynchburg had its first unprecedented snow: 8 inches.  My original ride, a former Floridian resident, told me to call off my surgery because he couldn’t drive me to Richmond in his FOUR WHEEL JEEP.

Cancel?  And have to repeat another 30 days of glasses-wearing-blindness?  NO WAY.  Thankfully, Stephen Corey came to my rescue and kindly documented the entire journey (a video I will share with you all later; NOT for the faint of heart! 🙂

A year later, TLC has declared bankruptcy, I have settled happily into 25/30 vision (what can you expect coming from legally blind?), and I have been given a second chance at life.  Opening your eyes in the morning and being able to see the clock on my bedside table; getting ready for bed and not having to fuss with eye-wear; owning glasses as a fashion accessory and not a necessity, I have a new lease on this life.

I can’t help but think of the parable in scriptures when Jesus returned the blind man’s sight.  That man could not see, and yet I feel like I understand in some small way what it was like to have someone return something to you that you never had…and you’re eternally grateful.

2 thoughts on “20/20

Leave a Reply

