These are a few of my favorite things…


Entropy Girl challenged a few bloggers today, passing on one of those “meme”‘s that move from blogger to blogger.  For some, this challenge might be just that; for others, it might be a simple walk in the park.  For me, it’s difficult because there is a literal laundry list of things that make me ridiculously happy.

In keeping with Entropy Girl, this list will be a Wednesday event, posting five at a time; next Wednesday the last five.  I am passing the happiness torch on to Dave , Christina and Sarah.

Here is my list in random order of happiness:

1. In keeping with the title of this blog; since I was about 9 years old there has been something about The Sound of Music that has always made me smile.

Maybe it’s the cheery vocals of Julie Andrews, or that the story is placed in a land akin to my families heritage; but I would easily sing and dance to that song now at 31 as I did when I was nine.

2. Sunshine always makes me happy.  There is nothing better than waking up to the first rays of morning sneaking around my curtains and splashing on my face…

unless, of course, I didn’t get to bed until 3am for some unusual reason! 🙂

3. Puppies!!!  There is nothing that makes me happier than the little tiny bundles of fur that comprises most puppies from 2-3 months of age!  I adore them.  Their doll-baby faces, their puppy breath, their pink tongues…

You can be having nearly the worst day ever and their unconditional love always cheers you up!

4. Starbucks coffee.  Is this any surprise?  I can be having the worst morning, the crappiest afternoon or the most awful evening; and somehow, a grande cup of love, clutched in my hands, its aroma chasing the horrible smell of everything else away…

love.

And that cup reminds me of number 5: CHRISTMAS!

I absolutely adore Christmas, it is THE most wonderful time of the year!  Of all the holidays that exist (birthday included, as sometimes I feel birthdays deserve “holiday” status), Christmas makes me the happiest!  There is something about lights on trees, bows and wreaths, and Christmas carols that can turn even the worst years into something magical.  I did learn this year, that in order to relish those feelings, I need to take down my Christmas decor – at least for a while 🙂

What are your five things?  The challenge is 10, so I will finish the next 5 in a week.  But for now, these are the things that make me happy!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “These are a few of my favorite things…

  1. Ok, I accept your challenge, and will post it this week! Incidentally, the video probelm must have been a back-end issue for YouTub. ’cause it’s working fine now.

  2. Pingback: Out of Character? | unobtrusive lucidity

Leave a Reply

