One Hundred Thousand Miles


Today my little TSX has hit the 100,000 mile mark.

I’d like to say I’m responsible for each of those miles, but I she came new to me at 68,000 a year ago this past February.  Yes.  That is correct.  I put 31,000 miles on my car in a year and a half.  I have owned Acura vehicles for the last 9 years, and they have yet to fail me…well, completely fail me.

There was one time I drove to Richmond, and my former Acura CL was about 30 miles outside of the city limits, when the dash board lights went out, the odometer sunk to zero and the car appeared dead…but I was still driving.  Terror.  Do I pull over and stop, miles away from any amount of aid?  Do I keep driving and hope it makes it to the nearest shop?  I gripped the wheel tighter, called my shop back in Lynchburg and they Google’d the Acura dealership and talked me to the service doors.

This new car, my Acura TSX, has never given me grief, but we’ve only entered the grief-giving years.  That little mishap occurred when my CL (that I purchased with 60,000 miles) was already up in the 130’s.

Some people spend their money on quality jewelry, big homes, or nothing at all; but I have had to pay to purchase reliable (and subsequently foreign) cars.  This is entirely due to the fact that I make regular trips north of the border; an easy 2000 mile round trip.  Since the father-figure has moved over an hour north of Toronto, and 45 minutes away from the town I grew up in, I end up spending the bulk of my time driving while I’m home as well.

Luckily I live in tiny-town Lynchburg, where the furthest you generally drive in any given day is 15 minutes, so I am able to spare the miles while I am here…but it won’t be long before I hit the road again!

So here’s to my TSX, hitting a milestone in it’s car-life.  Cheers my good friend, may there be many miles more together!

One thought on “One Hundred Thousand Miles

Leave a Reply

