Sixty-Two.


Today, my beautiful mother would have turned sixty-two.

Life had other plans, as she didn’t get to see forty-eight, let alone sixty-two…

It’s amazing how quickly life can change, and how quickly life can pass; but how in the midst of that furry there are people who step into our lives that never truly leave.

My dad sent me a message this morning that said, “Today is your Mommy’s birthday.  She would have been 62.  I am sure she would have been as beautiful as when we got married.
>>> Not a day goes by that I don’t think of her.  So many many memories —
” Every year he sends an email with a similar message.  That man loved his wife; more than life itself.  I am reminded, at minimum once a year, just how much he adored her; and that even after 14 years, he has never forgotten her, “…not (one) day…”

Good men like my dad are hard to find…my mum was lucky; she got to spend 21 years married to a man who adored her; and continued to years after she was gone.

I have yet to find anyone who comes close to the example my dad set, to where I wrote a song about just how difficult it is to find a man like that:

“Daddy always said…”

Daddy always said,

It’d take a special kind of man.

Cause daddy always knew,

He’d be hard to find.

I have watched him all my life,

Love unconditionally.

Made the woman in his life,

Matter more than anything.

It goes on, but you get the idea.  While my mom found him at twenty-six, I’ve reached my thirties and I’m still searching.  I know if my mom were here, she’d tell me not to settle, to just keep living my life as I know I should, and trust that one day he’ll find me.  I know he will.  Till then, I will be reminded yearly of the kind of man I’m looking for as my dad reminds his girls about the woman that was his soul-mate, the love of his life, and his best friend.

In memory of you mom.  I love and miss you so much.

Renee Ruth.

Leave a Reply

