Gala and “What I Need”


“The dreams I dream for you
Are deeper than the ones
you’re clinging to
More precious than the
finest things you knew
And truer than the
treasures you pursue
Let the old dreams die
Like stars that fade from view
Then take the cup I offer
And drink deeply of
The dreams I dream for you.”

As a little girl, I used to dream about singing.

(Yes, that's me to the left as a little girl)

I would shut my bedroom door in our three-bedroom, two-garage home in Toronto Suburbia and turn up the latest Oldie I had recorded onto Track A of a tape I scammed from somewhere or the latest artist my dad had purchased (generally Steve Green, Neil Diamond, or the Carpenters) and would sing along at the top of my lungs…almost…I didn’t actually want anyone hearing me because I wasn’t sure if I actually was any good; but in my mind I liked to pretend I was.

Nearly 20 years later, I completed one of my first songs from the EP “What I Need.”  That song led me to meeting one of my now greatest friends (and beautiful dancers) Cameron McNinch.

He fell in love with the song that was written out of frustration with someone who claimed he wanted to be a part of my life but did nothing to help make my life better; instead, pulled me into all his drama and ended up distracting me from the things I knew I truly wanted.  The hard part of that song was knowing that I cared for this person, and that is why it stung so badly to have them chastise and criticize the dreams I was chasing.  Something in that experience resonated with Cameron and we began talks of having students from the ballet school he taught at perform his choreographed interpretation of this song.

That was a year and a half ago.  Life got in the way.

True to the life I’ve led, I have placed my hopes and dreams in the Hands of my Heavenly Father, and so many of them have come true – especially in recent years – and this one will come true next weekend!!  I will be playing “What I Need” live, and Stuart Coleman is presently choreographing a beautiful piece that he will be performing while I play.  I am planning to go and watch them rehearse tonight, as I am certain there will be days of tears that I’ll need to dry up before the show.

For all those within driving distance of Lyncburg, VA, this will be the LAST show VSA performs as the doors will be closing after this.  Please make a point to come and see the show!  Tickets can be purchased by calling 434-847-8688!!

Dreams do come true 🙂

One thought on “Gala and “What I Need”

  1. This design is steller! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you had to say,
    and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

