Giving Thanks…American Style


Today was perfectly beautiful.  There is something about the calm of a holiday; no cars on the road, empty retail parking lots, time with some of the most important people in your life, and thoughts left to those who are not with you. 

I am blessed.  I live 1200 miles from my family who I love dearly but I have found so many people in this tiny city that in one capacity or another have become some facet of a “family” to me.  Of course, there is Joey.  Even as I watch him napping on the couch after a long day of chasing chickens, horses and bunnies at Uncle Marty’s Rivermont “mini-farm” I am so thankful for him and the joy he has brought me in the last four years; if only I could find a way to let him know 🙂  However, this year what I am most thankful for is my health.

One of the biggest reasons I stopped blogging last year is that I tend to blog about what is going on in my life at the time (that’s what a “blog” is right?).  Last year, this time, my immediate life held an avalanche of antibiotics, a broken immune system and no cause in sight.  I spent two months dealing with unexplained symptoms until I went home for Christmas.  Canada meant being away from the apartment I was living in and a fractured shoulder kept me there two weeks longer than I had anticipated.  That fractured shoulder ended up being a blessing in disguise because the time away from my home here in the US helped me identify my cause: I was being poisoned by the very place I had been spending most of my time trying to get better. 

I have been out of that apartment since February 1st and my last (of 8) antibiotics was in March of last year.  I have not been to a doctor for strep or any other infection since and I am beyond thankful that it would appear I am on the mend.  My virtual and physical “silence” might have left people I know and love thinking I had just “disappeared,” but I was in survival mode.  For the first time in over a year I have felt ready to go out and play music somewhere that would require me to carry my gear (I could barely carry myself before) and I am SO THANKFUL. 

Health is something I think we take for granted, imagining it will always be there but mold is a silent killer and I encourage anyone reading this to contact me if they are suffering from symptoms that cannot seem to be identified.  It was not a doctor that directed me to the cause but my own determination to find out why someone who spent her whole life working to be “healthy” could find herself so crippled by illness.

American’s celebrate thanksgiving a month later than Canadian, but the timing is perfect.  It has been a year since the battle began for my health and this thanksgiving I find myself counting my blessings that I was able to move out in time before any serious damage was done (Lord willing!!).

Image

What is it you found yourself being thankful for this year?

Leave a Reply

